Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

First time to Bali- lodging and transportation help needed!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 25th, 2024, 01:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello!

My husband and I will be visiting Bali for the first time this October. We'll be spending 10 days there, and I was thinking about splitting our lodging in 2 different areas to make the most out of our time. I found a lovely villa in East Bali near Tukad Ringuang, and we're considering maybe staying somewhere outside of Ubud for the second half. We know we don't want to stay in the really built up areas. If there are other areas we should consider- I'm open to suggestions. Our biggest quandary is our flight home leaves at 1:15 am, so we're not sure what our options for that last night will be.

I'm a photographer, and really want to be able to explore the island and take pictures. Not sure if our best course of action is to rent scooters and work our way around ourselves, or hire a driver to take us around. Never ridden a scooter- so there's a bit of trepidation about that. But then again I'm afraid a driver won't want to take us to places at the times we might want to go or stay for longer periods of time.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Old Apr 25th, 2024, 03:01 PM
kja

You should be able to negotiate what you want with a good driver. I certainly can’t say what they would or would not do, but the only sure way to know is to try, and if they won’t do something you want, maybe they can suggest an alternative.

I was delighted with my driver in Bali and would be happy to tell you how to reach him if you send me a personal message.
Old Apr 25th, 2024, 06:32 PM

Hi,

If you have already booked accommodation, make sure they can arrange a pick-up from the airport, at least on arrival, and your transportation is settled.