Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Steak? Seafood? Italian? Ok. But - Ambience, fer sure.

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2024, 05:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Will be back for a NYC visit for the first time since 2016. Interested in some midtown (staying at Barclay) dining suggestions. Had about settled on Seafire for one evening, but the dining room looks sterile..and probably loud. Was also looking at the companion Benjamin Steakhouses, tilI saw mention of it being loud. I'd love to hear about anyone's 'favorite little neighborhood place'….not loud, not trendy, reliably good food. Anyone?

(PS - not a newbie here, tho I,ve not posted or looked, really, in quite a while and had to re-register. Actually, this will be my first real trip in five - ‼️ - yeah, five years thanks to covid and then a series of surgeries… So, I'm def looking forward…)

Last edited by gr8tlakes; May 6th, 2024 at 05:10 PM. Reason: Additional text
Old May 6th, 2024, 08:25 PM

For Italian, we really enjoyed Il Cantinori last summer. It’s not really midtown, between Washington Square Park and Union Square. The food was very good and we really liked the atmosphere. It wasn’t warm enough when we were there, but it looked like they have large windows that open up to the street in good weather.

https://www.ilcantinori.com
Old May 14th, 2024, 02:25 PM

For excellent steak and cheesecake, I really enjoyed Gallagher’s Steakhouse on W 52nd St.
Old May 15th, 2024, 11:18 AM

Just before Covid, I had a nice dinner at:

Benjamin Prime ( https://www.benjaminsteakhouse.com/prime/ )

and a spectacular lunch at:

Morgan Library Café; Turkey sandwich with guac, bacon, and balsamic onions. Fries with a slightly spicy ketchup. Apple tart tatin. It was enough for two people.

Below is my trip report...do double check that venues are still open, and share what you end up doing!

New York City – Sargent and the Zoo