Need advice on Turkey portion of Turkey/Greece trip

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2024, 08:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to the Fodor's forums and I have found some great info on both Turkey and Greece. We are seasoned travelers in our 60s who are planning to visit Turkey & Greece in Sept/Oct 2024 for about a month. We have never been to either country, and I find I'm struggling with this trip's planning more than any other place we've been. (Even more than Patagonia, which was challenging.) My big issues are: logistics between locations, knowing how much time to allocate to experience places without being rushed, and figuring out a logical itinerary for the list of places we're interested in. Here are the place in Turkey we're interested in, including tentative number of nights in each place:
  • arrive Istanbul. Mosques. Cistern. Bosphorus cruise. Topkapi Palace. Spice bazarre. Day trip to Gallipoli Peninsula & Troy - 5 nights
  • Cappadocia. Visit Tuz Gölü? Hot air balloon? Stay in cave hotel - 3 nights?
  • Antalya - 2/3 nights
  • Rhodes - 3 nights
  • Ephesus - 2 nights Kuşadası or Selçuk
Once the Turkey portion is completed, we need to make sure we can transfer to our places of interest in Greece via ferry or plane. We're hoping to stay a few days on one of the Cyclades islands (hopefully a less crowded one) before spending some quality time in Peloponnese (side trips to Delphi and Corinth) and ending with about 3 nights in Athens. (An alternate to Peloponnese is to somehow get ourselves to Corfu for about 5 nights.) I don't want to take up space here with the Greece portion of the trip - though we certainly welcome info/suggestions for it - I just include it so you know where we're headed from Turkey.